Audit Statement
- Subject: eight site diary, daily report and daily log applications sold to UK buyers.
- Scope: features relevant to keeping a daily record of a construction site (weather, labour, plant, deliveries, delays and sign-off), plus published pricing and trial terms.
- Evidence standard: vendor-owned web pages and vendor help centres only. No review sites, directories or press coverage were relied on.
- Evidence date: all sources were accessed on 3 November 2026, and each finding was checked a second time against its source.
- Checked by: Lee Moss, 3 November 2026.
- Declaration of interest: SiteSurvey is our product. It was assessed against the same criteria and evidence standard as the other seven, and its limitations are recorded below.
Looking for SiteSurvey's site diary product rather than a market audit? See the site diary app page, which has the live form, a completed daily report and a sample PDF.
Criteria
Each application was assessed against six criteria.
- C1 Weather: is weather recorded, and is it filled in automatically or entered by hand?
- C2 Labour, plant and deliveries: does the diary record workforce by trade or company, plant and equipment, and deliveries?
- C3 Record integrity: how is the day signed off, are entries locked afterwards, and is each entry attributed and timestamped?
- C4 Offline working: does the vendor state the diary can be kept without a connection?
- C5 Reporting: what daily report output and distribution does the vendor state?
- C6 Commercial terms: published price, billing basis, the plan the diary is on, free plan and trial terms.
Findings Classification
- Stated: the vendor's own page states the capability. A link to that page is given.
- Partly stated: the vendor states part of the criterion; the missing part is recorded.
- Not stated: no statement was found on the vendor pages reviewed. This is not a finding that the capability is absent. Confirm with the vendor.
Summary of Findings
Prices are as published on 3 November 2026, per user per month unless noted. No vendor in this audit states whether its prices include VAT, except Mitti (excluding taxes) and SiteSurvey (plus VAT).
| Application | C1 Weather | C3 Sign-off and locking | C6 Published price | C6 Free plan or trial |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PlanRadar | Manual, from a list (source) | Stated: signed tickets and submitted project reports lock; signature on Pro (source) | £23 Basic (1 user), £80 Starter, £119 Pro, billed annually (source) | 30-day trial, no card (source) |
| Procore | Automatic, plus manual entries (source) | Stated: completing the day locks entries (source) | Annual fee by product, based on turnover (source) | No trial stated; demo |
| Fieldwire (by Hilti) | Automatic on WiFi, from the project address (source) | Stated: signed before submission, then locked (source) | Forms from Business: £54 billed annually, £67 monthly (source) | Free Basic plan, without forms (source) |
| Sitemate Dashpivot | Automatic, method not described (source) | Stated: approval signatures lock earlier fields (source) | From £21.24 Standard on a 1-year term, £23.60 monthly (source) | 30-day trial, card not stated (source) |
| Novade | Hourly weather loaded on submission (source) | Partly stated: approval workflows (source) | Free up to 5 users; Standard from £39 monthly or £29 yearly (source) | 7-day trial, no payment details (source) |
| Mitti (by SafetyCulture) | Automatic on iOS, in paragraph questions (source) | Partly stated: approvals on Premium (source) | Free up to 10 seats; Premium $24 billed annually or $29 monthly (source) | Free plan; Premium trial collects card details (source) |
| Archdesk | Recorded; method not stated (source) | Partly stated: timestamped, attributed entries (source) | Not published; quote per user or by construction volume (source) | No trial stated; demo |
| SiteSurvey | Manual (source) | Partly stated: site manager signature; no approval step (source) | £13 Base, £25 The Works, plus VAT (source) | 7 days for £1 or 14 days for £9.99, card required (source) |
Detailed Findings
PlanRadar
Construction and real estate platform. The site diary is filled in on a phone or tablet from a shared PDF template, so everyone collects the same information (site diary).
- C1 Stated, manual. Weather is chosen from a list, so days lost to weather can be counted (site reports help).
- C2 Stated. Attendance is recorded as number fields per trade or per company, with fields for deliveries, plant on site, and obstructions and delays (site reports help).
- C3 Stated. There are two methods. Project reports (PDF forms) lock on submission and need the Pro or Enterprise plan. Daily tickets stay editable with every edit logged, and lock when signed (site reports help). Ticket signature is listed on Pro only (pricing).
- C4 Stated. Reports can be filled in without signal and synced later (site reports help).
- C5 Stated. Signed PDF project reports; ticket reports export as PDF with photos, or Excel (site reports help).
- C6 Stated. Basic £23 (one user), Starter £80 and Pro £119 per user per month on annual billing; the monthly-billing rates are £25, £89 and £139. A 4% innovation fee on the annual fee applies from the second billing period. 30-day trial, no credit card required (pricing).
Procore
Construction management platform. In the UK the daily log tool is called Site Diary (site diary).
- C1 Stated, automatic. Procore logs the daily weather for the site automatically, and users can add their own observations (site diary). The weather provider is not named.
- C2 Stated. Manpower by company with workers, hours and cost codes, plus separate equipment, deliveries, delays and visitors sections (daily log types).
- C3 Stated. An admin marks the day complete, which stops further changes; an admin can reopen the day (mark as complete).
- C4 Partly stated. Entries can be added offline on Android and sync later (Android help). The iOS and general offline help pages could not be accessed.
- C5 Stated. Complete and Distribute emails a summary to the project's distribution list (mark as complete); reports export to PDF or spreadsheet (site diary).
- C6 Stated. Upfront annual fee by product, based on annual turnover, with unlimited users. No trial is stated; the pages offer a demo (pricing).
- Also stated: an AI agent drafts daily logs from photos, notes and dictation for a person to verify (Daily Log Agent). The page does not say which regions or plans include it.
Fieldwire (by Hilti)
Field management application. The daily report is a default template in the Forms module (daily report forms).
- C1 Stated, automatic. Weather fills in when the device is on WiFi and the project has an address. A morning entry is a forecast, replaced with the actual weather after about 24 hours (daily report forms).
- C2 Stated. Work log by role or trade, equipment log and material deliveries (daily report forms).
- C3 Stated. Every daily report must be signed before it is submitted. Once submitted it cannot be edited unless a project admin returns it to draft (daily report forms).
- C4 Stated. The iOS and Android apps can add content offline and sync when reconnected; the Windows app has no offline mode (offline help). Automatic weather needs WiFi.
- C5 Stated. Submitted forms download as PDF (daily report forms).
- C6 Stated. The Forms module is on Business and Business Plus (daily report forms). Business is £54 and Business Plus £76 per user per month billed annually, or £67 and £88 billed monthly. The free Basic plan (5 users, 3 projects) does not include custom forms. No trial is stated (UK pricing).
Sitemate Dashpivot
Field reporting software. Its site diary can be drafted by Storm, Sitemate's AI agent, from photos, notes and voice notes, for a supervisor to review (site diary app).
- C1 Stated, automatic. "Automated weather data capture" is listed as a feature, with no description of the source or method (site diary app).
- C2 Partly stated. Worker attendance and hours, equipment and material usage, and delays (site diary app). Deliveries were not named.
- C3 Stated. Submissions and edits are recorded with timestamps, and supervisors approve with digital signatures (site diary app). An approval signature locks all earlier fields; controlling who can sign needs Pro or above (approval signatures).
- C4 Stated, with limits. Only the last team opened is stored offline: all templates, the latest 300 photos and the last 30 forms per template (offline help).
- C5 Stated. Automated email distribution and client portals (site diary app).
- C6 Stated. Per contributor per month at the 11 to 30 contributor band: Standard £21.24, Pro £36.54, Premium £51.84 and Platinum £67.14 on a 1-year term, or £23.60, £40.60, £57.60 and £74.60 on a monthly term; longer terms cost less (pricing). 30-day trial in a cut-down workspace without reporting or analytics; the page does not say whether a card is needed (trial help).
Novade
Construction field management platform with a site diary app for the UK market (site diary app).
- C1 Partly stated. Weather is a configurable field (site diary app). A February 2025 release added hourly weather, fetched for each shift hour when the diary is submitted and Load is pressed (release note). The weather source is not named.
- C2 Partly stated. Hours worked, equipment and materials (site diary app). Deliveries were not named.
- C3 Partly stated. Approval processes through a workflow engine, and timestamped photos (site diary app). Locking and signatures were not stated.
- C4 Stated for the app generally. It keeps working with limited connectivity and synchronises later (UK home page).
- C5 Stated. Reports export to PDF or Excel (site diary app).
- C6 Stated. Free up to 5 users and 5 projects; Standard from £39 per user per month billed monthly, or £29 billed yearly; Premium and Enterprise on quote; 7-day trial with no payment details (pricing). The pricing page has no site diary row and lists "large project site diaries" under Enterprise only, so which plan includes the diary should be confirmed with the vendor.
Mitti (by SafetyCulture)
Inspection and operations platform; the SafetyCulture platform has been renamed Mitti (SafetyCulture is now Mitti). The site diary is a community template, which Mitti states it has not verified, rather than a dedicated feature (site diary template).
- C1 Stated, automatic with limits. "Use today's details" fills in weather from the device location, only in paragraph text questions, on iOS or iPadOS 16 and later, with an internet connection (weather help).
- C2 Stated in the template. Crews and subcontractors, materials delivered, plant and equipment, delays and instructions (site diary template). These are template questions, not product features.
- C3 Partly stated. Approvals need Premium or Enterprise and cannot be submitted offline (approvals help). The template ends with a supervisor sign-off.
- C4 Stated. Inspections stored on the device can be started, continued and completed offline (offline help).
- C5 Stated. PDF and web reports, including on the free plan (pricing).
- C6 Stated. Free for up to 10 seats; Premium $24 per seat per month billed annually or $29 monthly, excluding taxes; customers outside Australia and New Zealand are billed in US dollars; the Premium trial collects card details (pricing).
Archdesk
UK-run construction management software with more than 30 modules. The site diary and daily reports module records labour, plant, progress, weather and events on a phone (site diary).
- C1 Partly stated. Weather is recorded; whether automatically or by hand is not stated (site diary).
- C2 Partly stated. Labour and plant are recorded (site diary). Labour by trade or company, and deliveries, were not stated.
- C3 Partly stated. Entries are timestamped and attributed, and photos are tied to the day they were taken (site diary). Sign-off and locking were not stated.
- C4 Stated. Entries can be captured offline and submitted later (site diary).
- C5 Not stated on the pages reviewed.
- C6 Partly stated. No public prices. Quotes are per user, or for unlimited users priced on annual construction volume, and every quote includes all modules. No trial is stated; the pages offer a demo (pricing).
SiteSurvey
Mobile inspection application for iOS and Android with a web portal. The site diary is an editable construction daily report form (site diary app, construction daily report template).
- C1 Stated, manual. Date, weather, temperature and site hours are entered by the site manager. Weather is not filled in automatically.
- C2 Stated. Labour by trade with people and hours (the form adds up the hours and the total on site), plant as working, standing or broken down, deliveries checked against the order with a photo of the note, and delays with cause and hours lost, totalled for the day.
- C3 Partly stated. Each entry is dated and attributed, and the day ends with the site manager's signature. There is no separate approval or countersignature step.
- C4 Stated. The diary, photos and voice notes are captured on the device and sync when back online.
- C5 Stated. PDF report or shareable link to the completed diary.
- C6 Stated. Base £13 and The Works £25 per user per month plus VAT; The Works includes the form builder and reports. Trial of 7 days for £1 or 14 days for £9.99, card required (pricing).
- Not provided: reminders to complete the diary, delay claim or extension of time calculations, and a replacement for the accident book or an incident reporting system.
Limitations
- Findings reflect vendor statements, not hands-on testing of each application.
- "Not stated" findings may reflect gaps in vendor marketing pages rather than missing features.
- Procore's iOS and general offline help pages returned access errors and were not reviewed.
- Prices change. Billing basis (monthly, annual or term) and currency are recorded as published. Sitemate's prices depend on the number of contributors and the term; the figures shown are for the band and term displayed by default.
- Procore and Archdesk do not publish prices, so like-for-like cost comparison is not possible for them.
- Raken, GoAudits, LetsBuild (now Aproplan by Causeway) and Work Wallet were considered and excluded: Raken prices in US dollars with no UK offer stated, GoAudits has no site diary page, and LetsBuild and Work Wallet had too little current vendor evidence to assess.
Conclusions
- Where the weather must fill itself in, Procore, Fieldwire and Sitemate state automatic capture. Fieldwire's needs WiFi, Mitti's is limited to iOS and paragraph questions, and Novade loads it when the diary is submitted.
- Where the day must be signed off and locked, Procore, Fieldwire, Sitemate and PlanRadar (on Pro) state it. Fieldwire is the only one that states every daily report must be signed before submission.
- For teams starting without a budget, Novade's free plan (5 users, 5 projects) and Mitti's free plan (10 seats) are the entry points. Fieldwire's free plan does not include forms, so its daily report starts at the Business plan.
- For contractors buying a whole construction management platform, Procore and Archdesk include the diary, priced on turnover or construction volume by quote.
- SiteSurvey fits teams who want an editable diary form that adds up labour and lost hours, and who run surveys and inspections in the same application. It is not the right choice where automatic weather, a countersignature workflow or completion reminders are requirements.
- Whichever application is selected, each day's record should show who was on site, what was done where with photographs, what arrived, what was delayed and why, what was instructed and by whom, and who signed it off.
Evidence Register
All accessed on 3 November 2026.
- PlanRadar: site diary, site reports help, pricing
- Procore: site diary, daily log types, mark as complete, Android help, Daily Log Agent, pricing
- Fieldwire: daily report forms, offline help, UK pricing
- Sitemate: site diary app, offline help, approval signatures, trial help, pricing
- Novade: site diary app, release note, UK home page, pricing
- Mitti: SafetyCulture is now Mitti, site diary template, weather help, approvals help, offline help, pricing
- Archdesk: site diary, pricing
- SiteSurvey: site diary app, construction daily report template, pricing
Checked by Lee Moss, 3 November 2026.
